Dalston Yard

Street Feast is rapidly taking over London, one disused area at a time.

I really wish I’d thought of it myself. I mean it seems so obvious; transforming some grotty, long forgotten piece of land into an eating and drinking paradise.

Following my first visit to Model Market in Lewisham a year ago, I’ve been hooked. I’ve been steadily working my way around the rest, including Battersea Power Station, Hawker House and Dalston Yard.

Model Market remains my favourite, as it’s smaller and more intimate, but when moving to Walthamstow a journey time of 1.5 hours just seemed ridiculous.

Happily, though, Dalston Yard is a mere stone’s throw away so we’ve adopted it as our local ‘street feast’.

Dalston Yard is flippin’ enormous. This is great, as even on a beautiful Summer’s evening you rarely have to queue (always a bore). There are so many different areas to hang out in, so many different drinks to sample, and so many different food stalls to stuff your face from. We visited with our friends Andy and Fi last weekend and we made it our mission to sample as many different things as possible.

Ever since my stupid panic ordering of the ridiculously expensive watermelon cocktail at Model Market last year, I’ve been more than a little obsessed with whole fruit cocktails.

Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 09.41.42

At £15 for this pina colada, it sounds pretty steep. In my defence I shared it with Fi, and the cocktail was way better than the crappy ‘festival sized cocktails’ they serve elsewhere in Street Feast, which are almost a tenner each and consist largely of ice.

Drinks sorted it was onto the food. And I just had to order a yum bun; a floaty-light bun filled with pork belly, spring onion, cucumber and hoisin sauce.

Here I am in seventh heaven with a pina colada in one hand and a pork bun in the other. Why can’t I eat like this everyday??

Following that I ordered a cheese toastie which was frankly crap. A pathetically tiny portion with a nondescript tasteless cheese inside. Really, really upsetting.

After checking my photos, I see that I have failed to take any further pictures of what was eaten that night. It always happens to me. I try to be a good blogger and then I get distracted by all the food and drink and photo taking goes out of the window!

Anyhow, the toastie was followed by fresh noodles with beef for Andy and Fi, while M and I shared half a spit roast chicken with potatoes. Then Andy ordered buffalo wings with blue cheese sauce before rounding off proceedings with a huge helping of Indian flat breads with various toppings.

To make up for my lack of food shots, I’ll just add a load of photos of the various stalls and arty parts.

As the night draws on the fire pits get lit and everyone huddles round them to stay warm.

In terms of costs, it’s a weird one. A visit to Street Feast can either be super cheap or super expensive. The entry fee is a random £3 and then after that you can spend as little or as much as you want. If you eat and drink everything you want, then the cost stacks up quickly, but if you go say for just one drink and one food item, you can keep your evening cheap and soak up the atmosphere instead.

I really, really recommend a visit. It’s just so much fun. I see that they’ve recently opened up another Street Feast in Shoreditch called Dinerama which is well and truly on my hit list.

One thought on “Dalston Yard

Please leave a comment below.

